Springboard Atlantic


Lost your password?

N.S. Winner At 2013 Manning Innovation Awards

CALGARY (Mon. Sept. 30/13) – Winners of 2013 Ernest C. Manning Innovation Awards were announced today by Ernest C. Manning Awards Foundation President Jennifer Diakiw. (www.manningawards.ca)

The 2013 winners, from British Columbia, Ontario and Nova Scotia, share $145,000 in prizes. The 2013 Young Canadian Award winners from Ontario and Quebec share $16,000 in prizes.

Innovations created by the 2013 Ernest C. Manning Innovation Award winners include:

  • a social innovation from Halifax now being offered in four Canadian provinces with outstanding outcomes;
  • a device for hearing aids created in Kitchener that reduces loud and sharp sounds which can cause acoustic shock, now being sold in more than 60 countries;
  • a safety device manufactured in Scarborough now on public and commercial transportation vehicles on four continents; and,
  • ‘Heads-up display’ technology developed in Vancouver now being added to ski/snowboard goggles and athletic sunglasses by leading eye wear manufacturers.

The five Young Canadian award winners, two now in University and three still in high school, created inspiring innovations which were showcased earlier this year at the 2013 Canada-Wide Science Fair.

In Atlantic Canada, the 2013 Ernest C. Manning Innovation Award recipient was:

Dr. Patricia Lingley-Pottie and Dr. Patrick McGrath, Halifax, NS, co-recipients of the $100,000 Encana Principal Award for creating a social innovation, The Strongest Families Institute. The not for profit Institute provides distance services to families dealing with behavior, anxiety and bedwetting problems. Services are delivered by highly-trained coaches who teach families skills through 16 telephone sessions supported by handbooks, videos and websites. The convenient, family-centered approach increases access for families in need of help and is a proven, evidence- based, cost-effective solution for the health system. (www.strongestfamilies.com);

For a complete list of winners, visit the external article at www.manningawards.ca