Le réseau de liaison industrielle et de commercialisation pour le Canada atlantique

Conseil

Notre Conseil d'administration

Membres des universités
Stephen Hartlen, Dalhousie University (Vice-Chair)
Dr. Dale Keefe - Cape Breton Univeristy (Secrétaire)
Dr. David Burns - University of New Brunswick (Trésorie)
Dr. Robert Gilmour - University of Prince Edward Island|
Dr. Ray Gosine - Memorial University
Dr. Michael Dawson - Mount Allison University
Membre des collèges communautaires
Mary Butler - New Brunswick Community College
Membres du secteur privé
Brian Lowe - First Angel Network, Président
Shelley King - Natural Products Canada
Barrie Black - Intelivote Systems Inc.
Wayne Chamberlain - AnyWare Group
Michael Maguire - Currach Consulting Ltd.
Shelley Simpson - LED SGS Solutions Inc.
Ex-officio
Chris Mathis - Springboard Atlantic Inc. (Président-directeur général)

  • Stephen Hartlen
    (Vice Chair)

    En tant que vice-président adjoint (relations avec l’industrie) et directeur exécutif du Bureau d’innovation et de liaison avec l’industrie de Dalhousie (ILI), Stephen Hartlen dialogue avec les membres du secteur privé local pour développer des contrats de recherche et créer des stages pour les étudiants avec des industries locales, nationales et internationales. Il aide actuellement à bâtir la recherche valant 132 millions de dollars menée par la faculté à Dalhousie, et s’efforce d’enrichir l’expérience d’apprentissage de futurs dirigeants et innovateurs.   

    Stephen Hartlen a passé les huit dernières années à Innovacorp, société d’État de la Nouvelle-Écosse pour la commercialisation de recherche fondamentale, exerçant les fonctions de vice-président (mentorat) et plus récemment de président intérimaire et de directeur général. ILI et Innovacorp sont tous deux situés dans le nouvel institut de Dalhousie Life Sciences Research Institute et la combinaison des deux aide à renforcer les partenariats de recherche université-industrie et assure une croissance économique pour la Nouvelle-Écosse.   

    Le Bureau d’innovation et de liaison avec l’industrie de Dalhousie commercialise la recherche à partir de l’université et aide à la création d’entreprises dérivées. Innovacorp aide les entreprises émergentes à potentiel élevé de la Nouvelle-Écosse à commercialiser leurs technologies et à s’imposer sur le marché mondial.

    En plus d’Innovacorp, Stephen Hartlen a travaillé avec des entreprises incluant xwave, Infointeractive, MTT et Keltic Inc. Il a fait partie de plusieurs comités tels que l’équipe de leadership du sous-ministre en matière d’économie et d’environnement et a été invité à participer à de récentes consultations sur les rapports Savoie et O’Neill. Il est aussi membre du conseil consultatif pour le programme MBA de résidence des sociétés de Dalhousie.

  • Richard Isnor
    (Secrétaire d'entreprise)

    Richard Isnor est vice-président associé, Recherche et études supérieures, Université St. Francis Xavier. Avant de se joindre à StFX, il a été directeur du Bureau régional de l'Atlantique pour le Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada (CRSNG), basé à Moncton (N.-B.). Auparavant, il était directeur des politiques et des sciences de l'innovation au Centre de recherches pour le développement international à Ottawa et a travaillé pendant trois ans avec le Conseil national de recherches du Canada où il gérait des initiatives de recherche en biotechnologie et l'Initiative sur la génomique et la santé du CNRC.

    Richard détient un D. Phil. dans les études de politique scientifique et technologique de l'Université de Sussex, Royaume-Uni; Une maîtrise en études environnementales de l'Université Dalhousie; Et un B. Sc. spécialisé en biochimie de l'Université Mount Allison. Il s’intéresse principalement à la politique scientifique et l'administration publique de la recherche; Il a travaillé des postes dans la politique scientifique et technologique ou l’administration de recherche pour Environnement Canada, Ressources naturelles Canada, le Bureau du Conseil privé, ainsi que l'Institut de recherche du Nunavut.

  • Robert Gilmour

    Dr. Robert Gilmour, Jr. est le vice-recteur, enseignement et recherche, d'UPEI. Son expérience en tant qu'administrateur s'étend aux domaines universitaires et de recherche, y compris les études supérieures et professionnelles. Il est actuellement le représentant de l'université à la Commission de l'enseignement supérieur des provinces maritimes (CESPM) et est membre du Comité d'assurance de la qualité de la CESPM. Dr. Gilmour préside également le Comité de planification académique de l'université et a largement contribué à la création de nouveaux programmes universitaires dans les domaines de l'ingénierie, des mathématiques et des sciences informatiques et des changements climatiques.

    En tant que chercheur bien publié qui détient également plusieurs brevets, Dr. Gilmour gère un portefeuille de recherche diversifié qui comprend de nombreuses sources de financement, tout en entretenant un laboratoire actif. Son expérience en gestion et motivation des équipes de recherche multidisciplinaires a été un attribut important alors que l’UPEI continue a faire avancer la découverte avec des partenaires stratégiques des secteurs privé, publique et universitaire.

    Dr. Gilmour est venu à UPEI de l'Université Cornell à Ithaca, New York, où il a été doyen associé de la recherche et des études supérieures et professeur de physiologie au département de sciences biomédicales du Collège de médicine vétérinaire. Auparavant, il était professeur agrégé au département de médecine et au département de pharmacologie et de toxicologie de l'École de médecine de l'Université d'Indiana et était associé de recherche à l'Institut de cardiologie de Krannert à Indianapolis, Indiana.

  • Neil Bose

  • Michael Dawson

    Michael Dawson est le vice-président associé (recherche) à l’université St. Thomas. Ses priorités dans ce poste incluent la collaboration étroite avec les enseignants des sciences sociales, des sciences humaines et des programmes professionnels de l’université pour développer des demandes de financement externes qui auront du succès, afin d’améliorer la participation des élèves aux projets de recherche et de faciliter la diffusion des conclusions des professeurs aussi largement que possible.

    En tant qu’ancien président du département d’histoire de l’université St. Thomas, Dr Dawson concentre son recherche principalement sur l’intersection du consumérisme, de la culture populaire et des identités nationales, régionales, et impériales. Il est l’auteur de The Mountie from Dime Novel to Disney (1998), Selling British Columbia: Tourism and Consumer Culture, 1890-1970 (2004) et co-rédacteur de Contesting Clio’s Craft: New Directions and Debates in Canadian History (2009), Worth Fighting For: Canada’s Tradition of War Resistance from 1812 to the War on Terror (2015) et A Canadian Girl in South Africa: A Teacher’s Experiences in the South African War, 1899-1902 (2015). En 2014 il a été nommé à la Collège des nouveaux chercheurs, artistes et scientifiques du Société royale du Canada.

  • Mary Butler
    (Trésorie)

    Mary s’est jointe au NBCC en 2011, apportant au collège un mélange unique d’expérience en gestion supérieure, en éducation et en affaires. Étant responsable du développement collégial et communautaire, Mary est consciente de la place que tient le collège dans le tissu économique et social du Nouveau-Brunswick. Elle travaille avec une équipe solide de penseurs et d’innovateurs créatifs pour offrir du leadership dans l’avancement et la promotion du NBCC et l’établissement des capacités de recherche et de planification du collège. Étant membre de l’équipe NBCC, Mary est engagée à développer une culture de leadership et d’innovation au collège et dans nos communautés. De plus, elle est active dans de nombreux groupes où elle se concentre sur les TIC, l’entrepreneuriat, le mentorat, la recherche et l’innovation.     

    Mary est bénévole au programme de zoothérapie canine d’Ambulance Saint-Jean, elle est membre du conseil d’administration de la Fondation de la recherche en santé du Nouveau-Brunswick et du comité directeur de Apprendre   : un projet collectif - En route pour un plan d’apprentissage 2013-2018.

  • Shelley King

    Produits naturels Canada (PNC) est le tout nouveau centre d’excellence en commercialisation et recherche. Sous la direction de Shelley King, PNC visera à renforcer l’industrie canadienne des produits naturels. Son équipe à PNC reliera les acteurs principaux, évaluera les technologies et investira dans des possibilités canadiennes d’accélérer la commercialisation des produits naturels.

    Shelley assure la liaison avec les clients, les parties prenantes, les employés, et les organisations partenaires, ce qui servira PNC en ses efforts de relier les entreprises de produits naturels avec l’expertise du secteur publique et du secteur privé de partout au Canada. PNC bénéficiera également de Shelley car elle apporte : les connaissances en développement et la commercialisation des technologies ; l'expérience passée en tant que présidente d'une société de biosciences ; la capacité démontrée de faire avancer des projets de recherche multi-institutionnels de plusieurs millions de dollars ; et, l’expérience régionale, nationale et multinationale de l'industrie, des universités, des instituts de recherche et des organismes sans but lucratif.

    Avant d’assumer ce poste, Shelley était présidente directrice générale de Synapse, un organisme sans but lucratif chargé de la recherche appliquée et des services de l’industrie de l’Université de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard, ce qui traite le transfert de technologie, le développement de partenaires, les évaluations technologiques et le soutien à la commercialisation. Elle est entrée dans son poste avec Synapse suite à son mandat à titre de vice-président, recherche et développement des affaires de Génome Atlantique.

    Shelley a obtenu une maitrise en médicine et une maitrise en administration des affaires, tout les deux de l’Université Memorial. Elle a été membre des conseils d’administration et des comités liées à l’innovation, notamment :  l’Association aquicole du Canada, l’Association panaméricaine de biotechnologie marine, l’Association des industries de technologie de Terre-Neuve et Labrador, et le Genesis Centre.

  • Michael Maguire

    Michael Maguire est un ingénieur avec plus de 25 ans d’expérience dans les industries internationales d’énergie extracôtière et de transport maritime. Mike a dirigé des équipes d’ingénieurs en des divers milieux internationaux pour assurer l’intégrité technologique et la certification des développements pétroliers de haut valeur dans des environnements sévères extracôtiers. Au cours des derniers dix ans Mike s’est émergé comme grand spécialiste dans l’avancement technologique et l’innovation pour soutenir la croissance commerciale sûr et durable, y inclus l’établissement d’une stratégie de recherche et de développement et de la gestion d’un portefeuille d’innovation de plus de dix millions de dollars pour un des majeurs compagnies d’énergie intégrée.


    Mike a obtenu son baccalauréat en ingénierie en architecture navale et en génie océanique à l’Université Memorial de Terre-Neuve. Ses compétences professionnelles comprennent l’inscription professionnelle auprès de l’Association des ingénieurs et géoscientifiques de Terre-Neuve et Labrador, du Conseil des ingénieurs du Royaume Uni, de la Fédération européenne des associations nationales d’ingénieurs, du Société des architectes navales et des ingénieurs maritimes (SNaME), de l’Institut de génie maritime, science et technologie (IMarEST), et le Société d’ingénieurs pétroliers (SPE).


    De plus de son siège sur le conseil d'administration de Springboard Atlantic, les affiliations professionnelles à souligner incluent : Président du conseil d’administration d’OceansAdvance – la grappe des technologies océaniques de Terre-Neuve et Labrador; Membre de longue date de comités parallèles canadiens pour l’élaboration de normes pour les structures extracôtières et les activités dans l’Arctique canadien et pour l’harmonisation des normes canadiennes à celles de l’Organisation internationale de normalisation (et Président du groupe de travail canadien sur les structures flottantes extracôtières). Auparavant, il était Président du comité consultatif pour le programme de formation FONCER de CRSNG pour la recherche en technologie extracôtière à l’Université Memorial et a participé à de nombreux autres comités consultatifs incluant : le Comité consultatif du Bureau américain de livraison de la technologie arctique; Le Groupe de technologie arctique  de l’Association internationale des Producteurs de pétrole et de gaz; et le Comité consultatif industriel de calcul scientifique de l’Université Memorial.

  • Johannes Larsen

    L'expérience de Johannes en tant que fonctionnaire, chef d'entreprise et entrepreneur s’est étendu dans le domaine d'entreprise commerciale et de l'innovation pour les opérations de toutes tailles. Parmi ses nombreuses réalisations, il a été nommé l'un des 50 principaux président-directeurs généraux du Canada atlantique en 2001 par Atlantic Business Magazine.

    Il a acquis et appliqué une vaste expertise commerciale, accumulée depuis plus de 35 ans dans les secteurs public et privé à travers le monde. Ses compétences de niveau C comprennent: la gestion, le développement commercial, les ventes et le marketing international, les licences technologiques et les conseils en matière de gestion. Son aptitude pour le réseautage, le développement de liens et de relations ainsi que la négociation de contrats multinationaux au plus haut niveau sont ses domaines de compétence.

    En travaillant au niveau exécutif pour plusieurs entreprises internationales, Johannes a: commercialisé la technologie; élaboré et signé des accords de licenciées au Japon, à Singapour (Indonésie, Malaisie) à Taiwan et au Mexique; et a créé des coentreprises au Venezuela, en Équateur, en Colombie, au Chili et en Argentine avec l'aide de l'Agence canadienne de développement international.

    Il a occupé la fonction de vice-président des ventes de Avis Car Rental pour la division Europe, Afrique et Moyen-Orient, où il a dirigé et géré un grand personnel de vente / réservation diversifié et, dans ce processus, a établi des relations étroites avec des multinationales clés dans quinze pays européens et aux États-Unis.

    Johannes agit facilement dans les situations gouvernementales et commerciales à tous les niveaux et avec ses manières sympathiques, sa capacité de travail en équipe et son intégrité, il est considéré comme un conseiller de confiance.

Atlantic Canada’s commercialization and industry liaison network

Board

Springboard Atlantic Board of Directors

University Members
Stephen Hartlen - Dalhousie University (Vice-Chair)
Dr. Richard Isnor - St. Francis Xavier University (Corporate Secretary)
Dr. David MaGee - University of New Brunswick
Dr. Robert Gilmour - University of Prince Edward Island
Dr. Neil Bose - Memorial University
Dr. Michael Dawson - St. Thomas University
College Member
Mary Butler - New Brunswick Community College (Treasurer)
Private Sector Members
Jake Arsenault - Private Sector
Michael Maguire -  Canadian Association of Petroleum Producers(Chair)
Shelley King - Natural Products Canada
Johannes Larsen - JSL Business Development (IM Chair)

Ex-officio
Daryl Genge - Springboard Atlantic Inc. (President & CEO)

  • Stephen Hartlen
    (Vice Chair)

    As Assistant Vice President (Industry Relations) and Executive Director of the Industry Liaison and Innovation Office (ILI) at Dalhousie, Stephen Hartlen interacts with the local private sector community to develop research contracts and create student internships with local, national and international industries. He is helping to grow the $132 million worth of research being carried out by the Dalhousie faculty, and working to enrich the learning experience for future leaders and innovators.

    Stephen Hartlen spent the last eight years at Innovacorp, Nova Scotia's crown corporation for the commercialization of early stage research, serving as vice president (mentoring) and most recently, interim president and CEO. ILI and Innovacorp are both housed in Dalhousie’s new Life Sciences Research Institute and the combination of the two helps to strengthen university-industry research partnerships and provide economic growth to Nova Scotia.

    Dalhousie’s Industry Liaison and Innovation Office commercializes research at the university, manages and facilitates collaborations between companies and university researchers and assists in the creation of spin-off ventures. Innovacorp helps high potential early stage Nova Scotia companies commercialize their technologies and succeed in the global marketplace.

    In addition to Innovacorp, Mr. Hartlen has worked with companies including xwave, Infointeractive, MTT, and Keltic Inc. He has served on a number of Nova Scotia government committees such as the Deputy Minister's Leadership Team on the Economy and Environment and was included in recent consultations for the Savoie and O'Neill reports. He is also an advisory board member for Dalhousie’s Corporate Residency MBA program.

  • Richard Isnor
    (Corporate Secretary)

    Richard Isnor is the Associate Vice President, Research & Graduate Studies, St. Francis Xavier University.  Prior to joining StFX, he was Manager of the Atlantic Regional Office for the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC), based in Moncton, NB.  Previously, he was Director of Innovation Policy and Science at the International Development Research Centre in Ottawa and also worked for three years with the National Research Council of Canada managing Biotechnology Research Initiatives and the NRC Genomics and Health Initiative.

    Richard holds a D. Phil. in Science and Technology Policy Studies from the University of Sussex, UK; a Master’s in Environmental Studies from Dalhousie University; and a B. Sc. (Hons) in Biochemistry from Mount Allison University.  His primary interest is in science policy and the public administration of research; he has worked in science and technology policy or research administrative positions for Environment Canada, Natural Resources Canada, the Privy Council Office, as well as the Nunavut Research Institute.

  • Robert Gilmour

    Dr. Robert Gilmour, Jr. is UPEI’s Vice-President Academic and Research. His experience as an administrator spans the academic and research domains, including graduate and professional education.  He currently is the university’s representative to the Maritime Provinces Higher Education Commission (MPHEC) and is a member of the MPHEC Quality Assurance Committee.  Dr. Gilmour also chairs the university’s Academic Planning Committee and has been instrumental in creating new academic programs in engineering, mathematical and computational sciences and climate change.

    As a well-published researcher who also holds several patents, Dr. Gilmour manages a diverse research portfolio encompassing multiple funding sources, while maintaining an active laboratory. Dr. Gilmour’s experience in inspiring and leading multidisciplinary research teams has been an important attribute, as UPEI continues to work strategically with academic, and private- and public-sector partners to advance discovery.

    Dr. Gilmour came to UPEI from Cornell University in Ithaca, New York, where he was Associate Dean for Research and Graduate Education and professor of physiology in the Department of Biomedical Sciences at the College of Veterinary Medicine.  He previously was an associate professor in the Department of Medicine and the Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology at the Indiana University School of Medicine and was a research associate at the Krannert Institute of Cardiology in Indianapolis, Indiana.

  • Neil Bose

    Prior to his appointment as Vice-President (Research), Dr. Bose served as principal of the Australian Maritime College (AMC), the national institute for maritime education, training, research and consultancy at the University of Tasmania. Dr. Bose was also a professor of maritime hydrodynamics at the AMC. From 2009 to 2011 he was director of the AMC’s National Centre for Maritime Engineering and Hydrodynamics. He joined the college in May 2007 as the manager of the Australian Maritime Hydrodynamics Research Centre.

    Before his move to Tasmania, Dr. Bose was a long-standing and respected member of Memorial University’s research community. He came to Memorial in May 1987 as an assistant professor in the naval architectural engineering program. In his time at Memorial, Dr. Bose served as director of the Ocean Engineering Research Centre, chair of ocean and naval architectural engineering program and, in 2003, was named a Tier 1 Canada Research Chair in Offshore and Underwater Vehicles Design in the Faculty of Engineering and Applied Science.

    He received the President’s Award for Outstanding Research in 1992.

    On Oct. 8, 2017, Dr. Bose received an honorary degree from the Nikola Vaptsarov Naval Academy, the oldest technical educational institution, in Bulgaria.

    Dr. Bose obtained his B.Sc. in Naval Architecture and Ocean Engineering from the University of Glasgow in 1978 and his PhD, also from Glasgow, in 1982.

  • Michael Dawson

    Michael Dawson is the Associate Vice-President (Research) at St. Thomas University. His key priorities in this position include working closely with faculty in the university’s social science, humanities and professional programs to develop successful external funding applications, to enhance student involvement in research projects, and to assist faculty in disseminating their findings as widely as possible.

    A former Chair of STU’s History Department, Dr. Dawson’s research interests focus primarily on the intersection of consumerism, popular culture and national, regional and imperial identities. He is the author of The Mountie from Dime Novel to Disney (1998), Selling British Columbia: Tourism and Consumer Culture, 1890-1970 (2004) and co-editor of Contesting Clio’s Craft: New Directions and Debates in Canadian History (2009), Worth Fighting For: Canada’s Tradition of War Resistance from 1812 to the War on Terror (2015) and A Canadian Girl in South Africa: A Teacher’s Experiences in the South African War, 1899-1902 (2015). In 2014 he was appointed to the Royal Society of Canada’s College of New Scholars, Artists and Scientists.

  • Mary Butler
    (Treasurer
    )

    Mary joined NBCC in 2011 bringing a unique blend of senior management, education and business experience to the College. Responsible for Academic Development, Mary is conscience of the College’s place in the economic and social fabric of New Brunswick.  She works with a strong, award winning team of creative thinkers and educators to provide exceptional learning and training opportunities for students, as well as the public and private sectors, and to build the research capacity of the College.  As part of the larger NBCC team, Mary is committed to developing a culture of leadership and innovation at the College and throughout New Brunswick.

    Mary is an active volunteer with the Saint John Ambulance Therapy Dog Program and as a mentor with the Mentra. She is also a representative on the following Boards and committees: New Brunswick Health Research Foundation, Springboard Atlantic Network, Stan Cassidy Foundation, New Brunswick Social Policy Research Network Advisory Board, and the NSERC Atlantic Regional Advisory Committee, as well as excellence award committees for Colleges and Institutes Canada and the Fredericton Chamber of Commerce.

  • Shelley King

    Natural Products Canada (NPC) is Canada’s newest Center of Excellence in Commercialization and Research. Under Shelley King’s guidance, NPC will work to strengthen the nation’s natural products industry. Her NPC team will connect key players, evaluate technologies and invest in Canadian opportunities to accelerate commercialization of natural products.

    Shelley liaises effectively with clients, stakeholders, employees and partner organizations, which will serve NPC well in linking natural product companies with public- and private-sector expertise from coast to coast. NPC will also benefit from Shelley’s: successful development and commercialization of technologies; past experience as president of a biosciences company; demonstrated ability to advance multi-million-dollar, multi-institutional research projects; and, combined regional, national and multinational experience from industry, academia, research institutes and not-for-profit organizations.

    Prior to this role, Shelley was Chief Executive Officer of Synapse, a not-for-profit organization responsible for the University of Prince Edward Island’s applied research and industry services, ranging from technology transfer and partnership development to technology assessments and commercialization support. She joined Synapse following her tenure as Vice-President Research and Business Development at Genome Atlantic.

    Shelley earned an MSc in Medicine and an MBA, both from Memorial University. She has served on innovation-related boards and committees, including: The Aquaculture Association of Canada, Pan American Marine Biotechnology Association, Newfoundland and Labrador Association of Technology Industries, the Genesis Centre, among others.

  • Michael Maguire

    Michael Maguire is an independent consultant and Professional Engineer with a career spanning 3 decades in the offshore energy and ocean industries. Mike has led teams of engineers in a variety of international settings to assure technical integrity and certification of high value oil and gas developments in harsh offshore environments. Over the past 10 years, Mike has emerged as a leader in advancing technology and innovation to  support safe and sustainable business growth, including establishing an R&D strategy and managing a $10+ million annual innovation portfolio for a leading Canadian integrated energy company.

    Mike holds a Bachelor of Engineering degree in Naval Architecture and Ocean Engineering at Memorial University of Newfoundland and is a member of the Association of Professional Engineers and Geoscientists of Newfoundland and Labrador, the United Kingdom Engineering Council and the European Federation of National Engineering Associations, and holds professional memberships in: the Society and Naval Architects and Marine Engineers (SNaME); the Institute of Marine Engineering, Science and Technology (IMarEST); and the Society of Petroleum Engineers (SPE).

    In addition to serving on Springboard Atlantic’s Board, Mike’s professional volunteer roles include: Chair of the Board of Directors for OceansAdvance – Newfoundland a Labrador’s Ocean Technology Cluster; long-standing member of Canadian Standards Association Technical Committee on Design, Construction, and Installation of Offshore Structures (and Working Group Lead for Floating Offshore Structures); and Member of the Lloyd’s Register Offshore Technical Committee. He previously served as Advisory Committee Chair for Memorial University’s NSERC CREATE Training Program for Offshore Technology Research, and has participated in a number of other advisory committees, including: the American Bureau of Shipping Arctic Technology Advisory Committee; the International Oil and Gas Producers (IOGP) Arctic Technology Group; and Memorial University’s Scientific Computing Industrial Advisory Board.

  • Johannes Larsen

    Johannes background as a public servant, business leader and entrepreneur has spanned the commercial enterprise and innovation domain for operations of all sizes. Among his many achievements, he was named one of Atlantic Canada’s Top 50 CEOs in 2001 by Atlantic Business Magazine. 

    He has acquired and applied a wealth of business expertise, gained over 35 years in public and private sectors across the globe. C- level skills include: management, business development, international sales and marketing, technology licensing and management advisory. His aptitude for networking, developing connections and relationships as well as negotiating multinational contracts at the highest level, are his strong areas of competence.

    While working at the executive level for several international firms, Johannes has: marketed technology; developed and signed licensee agreements in Japan, Singapore (Indonesia, Malaysia) Taiwan and Mexico; and established joint Ventures in Venezuela, Ecuador, Colombia, Chile and Argentina with assistance from the Canadian International Development Agency. 

    He served as Vice President of Sales for Avis Car Rental for the Europe, Africa and Middle East Division, where he led and managed a large diverse sales/reservation staff, and in the process, established close relationships with key multinational companies in fifteen European countries and USA. 

    Johannes moves easily in government and commercial situations at all levels and with his personable ways, team working skills and integrity, he is viewed as a trusted advisor. 
     

  • Daryl Genge
    (President & CEO, ex-officio)

    Daryl Genge is an executive leader with over 28 years’ experience in building partnerships among academia, industry and government.  Most recently, he held Assistant Deputy Minister and Deputy Minister (acting) positions with the Government of Newfoundland and Labrador’s Department of Business, Tourism, Culture and Rural Development where he championed public-private investment strategies to drive the development and growth of innovative industries, and played a leadership role in international trade and foreign direct investment attraction. 

    Previously, he was the founding Director of Memorial University’s Atlantic Canada Venture Gateway, a pan-Atlantic organization which prepared high-potential technology firms to raise growth capital and assisted with expansion into international markets, primarily in the Middle East.

    Mr. Genge started his career in Canada’s east coast offshore oil industry and progressed into senior positions in the private sector as well as government-held corporations including Operation ONLINE.  He also spent eight years as President of an independent consulting firm specializing in innovation and organizational strategies for government, industry and university clients.  He is a graduate of Memorial University and is also a Certified Management Consultant. 

    Mr. Genge has held numerous board and committee positions including participating on the advisory boards of two venture capital funds, and continues to act as an advisor and mentor to entrepreneurs commercializing promising technologies.